Kelly Reagan (right) congratulates Don Joyner from Franklin County for his Bronze award.  Photo courtesy of MEMA

Kelly Reagan (right) congratulates Don Joyner from Franklin County for his Bronze award. Photo courtesy of MEMA

The Ohio Chapter of the Municipal Equipment Maintenance Association (MEMA) announced the winners of its Technicians of the Year award at the Midwest Green Fleet Forum. The award, open to MEMA Ohio members, recognizes technicians in the public and private sectors who demonstrate exceptional technical and leadership abilities.

A panel of fleet industry experts from public and private management convened and judged the nominees. There are three winners for each market segment, but a limited time frame this year prevented winners from the private sector to be named. James Durand, PhD, of the Ohio State University Center for Automotive Research chairs the judging panel. Other judges included Eric Voll from the City of Columbus, Ohio; Tom Holman from Ohio State University; and Dave Johnson from Bell Equipment.

The criteria include master certifications held from the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) and/or the Emergency Vehicle Technician Certification Commission, a willingness to share knowledge with others and be a leader in their shop, and having the ability to perform advanced diagnostics/repairs on vehicles. The winners demonstrate an ability to share advanced techniques with other technicians on the floor, helping others grow by doing. These winners are leaders within their vocations, and MEMA congratulate them for their exceptional abilities and desire to improve their shop and the profession.

The Technicians of the Year award winners are ranked and awarded with the Gold, Silver, and Bronze prizes. The winners are:

  • Gold: Jeff Ostler, City of Tulsa, Okla.
  • Silver: John Rankin, Ohio State University
  • Bronze: Don Joyner, Franklin County, Ohio

The award is sponsored by NAPA.