Government Fleet magazine has inducted three industry veterans into the Public Fleet Hall of Fame for 2018. The award, co-­produced with the American Public Works Association (APWA) and sponsored by Sourcewell (previously the National Joint Powers Alliance), recognizes fleet leaders and pioneers who have significantly contributed to the profession.

Nominations are accepted at the beginning of the year, and the industry votes for candidates via an online ballot. To qualify, nominees must have at least 20 years of experience in the industry, 10 of which must have been spent working for a public fleet or a private company contracted to manage a public fleet.

The Public Fleet Hall of Fame began in 2014, and this year’s inductees join 28 other fleet professionals. The following inductees were recognized at the Government Fleet Expo & Conference (GFX) during The Honors Celebration on June 5 in San Diego.


Dan Berlenbach, CPFP

City of Long Beach, Calif.; City of Phoenix; City of Oxnard, Calif.

Years in Fleet: 43 

Dan Berlenbach began his fleet career in 1975 with the U.S. Air Force. He spent 29 years on active duty, starting as a heavy equipment mechanic and going on to manage a variety of fleets

worldwide. He serves as vice president of the Municipal Equipment Maintenance Association (MEMA) and is a longtime supporter of the fleet profession. 

All three municipal fleets that he led have consistently earned recognition — from the ASE Blue Seal of Excellence to Leading Fleets and 100 Best Fleets. Some of his accomplishments at the City of Long Beach are achieving Tier 4 NAFA Sustainable Fleet accreditation and Green Fleet recognition from two different organizations. 


Mary Joyce Ivers, CPFP, PWLF

City of Ventura, Calif.

Years in Fleet: 25 

Mary Joyce Ivers supports industry collaboration through her leadership with associations, work with industry publications, and active promotion of the Certified Public Fleet Professional program. 

Under her leadership, the City of Ventura obtained the No. 1 Leading Fleet Award for small fleets two years in a row. Ivers has implemented technologies to enhance the fleet and champions employee development and succession planning. During the recent California wildfire, the Ventura fleet was prepared and provided more than 3,100 gallons of fuel to mutual agencies and first responders in the first 48 hours. Ivers was named the Public Sector Fleet Manager of the Year in 2017.


Gary Lentsch, CAFM

Eugene Water & Electric Board, Ore.

Years in Fleet: 40

Gary Lentsch is valued in the fleet community for his willingness to share ideas with others across the country. Lentsch currently serves on the board of directors for the Columbia-Willamette Clean Cities Coalition and is the chapter chair for the Pacific Northwest NAFA chapter. Additionally, Lentsch is the chair of NAFA’s accreditation development committee and serves on both NAFA’s education development committee and NAFA’s certification development committee. In 2017, he received a FLEXY award from NAFA for Excellence in Fleet Sustainability.

Under his leadership, the Eugene Water & Electric Board fleet has implemented various initiatives that have made a positive impact on the operation.

About the author
Staff Writer

Staff Writer


Our team of enterprising editors brings years of experience covering the fleet industry. We offer a deep understanding of trends and the ever-evolving landscapes we cover in fleet, trucking, and transportation.  

View Bio