Government Fleet magazine has inducted four industry veterans into the Public Fleet Hall of Fame. The award, co-produced with the American Public Works Association (APWA) and sponsored by the National Joint Powers Alliance (NJPA), recognizes fleet leaders and pioneers who have significantly contributed to the profession.

The Public Fleet Hall of Fame began in 2014 with 10 founding members. In 2015, eight fleet professionals were inducted, and in 2016, six were inducted. This year, four inductees were named, followed by three each year after.

Nominations are accepted at the beginning of the year, and the industry votes for candidates via an online ballot. To qualify, nominees must have at least 20 years of experience in the fleet industry, 10 of which must have been spent working for a public fleet or a private company contracted to manage a public fleet.

The following inductees were recognized at the Government Fleet Expo & Conference (GFX) during The Honors Celebration on June 13.

4 Hall of Fame Inductees Recognized
4 Hall of Fame Inductees Recognized

Lisa Bernier

U.S. Navy
Years in Fleet: 34

Lisa Bernier oversees 31,000 non-­tactical vehicles for the U.S. Navy across 55 sites around the world. She is a graduate of her command’s Leadership Development Program; a Certified Federal Fleet Administrator; and a member of her command’s Special Emphasis Board, serving as the women’s committee lead.

Among her accomplishments, Bernier developed the process for determining field-level fleet readiness to meet the Navy’s mission; led a team to professionalize the Navy fleet manager role; and led a team to develop fleet efficiency initiatives to include the use of handhelds, telematics, and other technology. With her participation and guidance, the Navy has increased its use of alternative fuels by 58% since 2012, reducing dependence on foreign oil.

4 Hall of Fame Inductees Recognized
4 Hall of Fame Inductees Recognized

Keith Leech Sr.

Sacramento County, Calif.;
City of Sacramento, Calif.
Years in Fleet: 26

Keith Leech Sr. is a clean fleet leader and was among the first public fleet managers to migrate his fleet to renewable natural gas. Under his leadership, the City of Sacramento fleet obtained NAFA’s Sustainable Fleet accreditation, was named the No. 1 Green Fleet, and ranked as the No. 2 Leading Fleet in 2015.

Leech led Sacramento County’s fleet to increase the composition of clean vehicles to 61% and to be recognized as a Leading Fleet. Leech received two Flexy awards from NAFA in 2014 and currently serves as president of the Sacramento Clean Cities Coalition, chair of the Northern California Chapter of the Municipal Equipment Maintenance Association (MEMA), and chair of NAFA’s Government Affairs Committee.

4 Hall of Fame Inductees Recognized
4 Hall of Fame Inductees Recognized

Will Massey, CAFM, CFM

City of Gainesville, Fla.
Years in Fleet: 42

Will Massey began his career in fleet with the City of Gainesville in 1974 and continually worked to improve service to city customers until his retirement in 2016.

Over the past 32 years, Massey played an integral role in the growth and development of the Florida Association of Governmental Fleet Administrators (FLAGFA). He has served as ­FLAGFA’s president, chairman of NAFA’s Law Enforcement Group and member of numerous NAFA national committees, chairman of NAFA’s Sunshine State chapter, and chairman of the Florida Utility Fleet Managers Association (FUFMA). He received ­FLAGFA’s “President’s Distinguished Service Award” in 2015.

4 Hall of Fame Inductees Recognized
4 Hall of Fame Inductees Recognized

Steven Saltzgiver, CAFS

Mercury Associates; Republic Services; Coca-Cola; State of Georgia; State of Utah; City of West Jordan, Utah
Years in Fleet: 40

Steven Saltzgiver has experience in both public and private fleet management. During his tenure, he was nominated twice for Automotive Fleet magazine’s Fleet Manager of the Year award.

Saltzgiver currently serves on NAFA’s Board of Directors. He previously served as president of the National Conference of State Fleet Administrators (NCSFA) and on its executive committee, was regional chair of FleetPros (previously the Rocky Mountain Fleet Management Association), and has served as a NAFA committee chair, as well as leadership in other organizations. As a consultant, he has participated in and directed comprehensive operational reviews for various cities, states, and universities.