Announcing the 2021 Public Fleet Hall of Fame Inductees
Announcing the 2021 Public Fleet Hall of Fame Inductees

Three public fleet professionals have been chosen for induction into the Public Fleet Hall of Fame, produced by Government Fleet and the American Public Works Association (APWA) and sponsored by Sourcewell. New inductees are selected by industry professionals via online ballot.

Honorees are recognized industry leaders and pioneers who have significantly contributed to the public fleet profession. To be eligible, they must have at least 20 years of experience in the industry, 10 of which must be spent working for a public fleet or a private company contracted to manage a public fleet. Ten inductees formed the inaugural group of Hall of Famers in 2014 — a full list of inductees can be found in the Awards section.

This year’s inductees in the Public Fleet Hall of Fame are:

  • Robert Gordon, deputy director, fleet management, DeKalb County, Georgia      
    Years in fleet: 34
  • Kevin Schlangen, CAFM, CEM, CPFP, fleet manager, Dakota County, Minnesota
    Years in fleet: 40
  • J. Darryl Syler, CPFP, state fleet administrator, State of Ohio
    Years in fleet: 41

In addition, one exceptional fleet professional who is a member of the Public Fleet Hall of Fame (current or new inductee) will receive the Legendary Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is also sponsored by Sourcewell and voted on by the industry and will be announced at the Government Fleet Expo & Conference (GFX).

Earlier, Government Fleet government fleet announced finalists and winners of its other awards programs, including the Leading Fleets and Public Sector Fleet Manager of the Year.

About the author
Staff Writer

Staff Writer


Our team of enterprising editors brings years of experience covering the fleet industry. We offer a deep understanding of trends and the ever-evolving landscapes we cover in fleet, trucking, and transportation.  

View Bio