The Leading Fleets were recognized at the Virtual Honors Celebration.  -

The Leading Fleets were recognized at the Virtual Honors Celebration.

Government Fleet announced the rankings for the top 20 of the 50 Leading Fleets and recognized the remaining award recipients at the Virtual Honors Celebration on June 16. The award is co-produced with the American Public Works Association (APWA).

Judges Brian Franklin, Sam Lamerato, Kelly Reagan, and Brad Salazar helped announce the fleet winners. Ford was the award sponsor, and Tony Gratson announced the No. 1 fleet winners.

Fleets are judged on exhibiting leadership with staff, customers, and within the community; staying efficient and competitive; overcoming challenges; and having a vision and direction for the operation.

Government Fleet also named the No. 1 fleets in size categories — the No. 1 small fleet (499 or fewer assets) is the Forest Preserve District ​of DuPage County, Ill.​; with 376 vehicles, and the No. 1 mid-size fleet (500-999 assets) is the Denver International Airport, Colo., with 940 units. The City of Fort Collins, Colo. is the No.1 overall fleet and also the No. 1 large fleet (1,000 or more assets), with 1,412 vehicles.

The rankings for the top 20 fleets are:

  1. City of Fort Collins, Colo.
  2. Forest Preserve District of DuPage County, Ill.
  3. City of Long Beach, Calif.
  4. County of San Diego, Calif.
  5. City of Tempe, Ariz.
  6. Denver International Airport, Colo.
  7. County of San Luis Obispo, Calif.
  8. Dakota County Fleet Management, Minn.
  9. Central Fleet Management, City of Chesapeake, Va.
  10. City of Dublin, Ohio
  11. City of San Antonio, Texas, Building & Equipment Services Department
  12. City of San Diego, Calif., Fleet Operations Department
  13. City of Milwaukee, Wis.
  14. County of Sacramento, Calif., Fleet Services Division
  15. City of Sacramento, Calif.
  16. San Joaquin County, Calif.
  17. City of Durham, N.C.
  18. City of Vancouver, B.C., Canada
  19. Fleet Management Department, Hillsborough County, Fla., Board of County Commissioners
  20. City of Greenville, S.C.

The remaining Leading Fleets awards recipients, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Charleston County, S.C., Fleet Operations
  • Chesterfield County, Va., Fleet Services
  • City of Boca Raton, Fla.
  • City of Buckeye, Ariz.
  • City of Cape Coral, Fla.
  • City of Germantown, Tenn.
  • City of Houston Fleet Management Department
  • City Of Irving, Texas
  • City of Kelowna, B.C., Canada
  • City of Lakeland, Fla., Fleet Management
  • City of Madison, Wis.
  • City of Midland, Mich.
  • City of Oakland, Calif.
  • City of Oceanside, Calif., Fleet Management
  • City of Peoria, Ariz.
  • City of Roseville, Calif.
  • City of Salem, Ore.
  • City of Tallahassee, Fla.
  • City of Tampa, Fla., Fleet Management
  • DPW/Indianapolis Fleet Services, Ind.
  • Iowa State University Transportation Services
  • King County, Wash., Fleet Services
  • Lower Colorado River Authority, Texas
  • Manatee County, Fla., Government Fleet
  • Miami-Dade County, Fla., ISD Fleet Management
  • New York City Fleet
  • Port Authority of New York & New Jersey
  • Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport, Alaska
  • University of California, Davis
  • Village of Arlington Heights, Ill.

The Notable Fleets were also recognized during the event. While the following fleets were not named among the Leading Fleets, their accomplishments and efforts warrant recognition.

  • Alameda County, Calif.
  • Atlantic County Utilities Authority, N.J.
  • City of Albany, Ga., Fleet Management Department
  • City of Baltimore's Department of General Services, Fleet Management Division, Md.
  • City of Battle Creek, Mich.
  • City of Brampton, Ontario, Canada
  • City of Brooklyn Center, Minn.
  • City of Cedar Rapids, Iowa
  • City of Charlotte, N.C.
  • City of Conroe, Texas
  • City of Coppell, Texas
  • City of Fairfax, Va.
  • City of Fairfield, Calif.
  • City of Fort Wayne, Ind.
  • City of Grand Prairie, Texas
  • City of Henderson, Nev.
  • City of Lewisville, Texas
  • City of Little Rock, Ark., Fleet Services
  • City of Marietta/BLW, Ga.
  • City of Montgomery, Ala., Fleet Management Department
  • City of Moreno Valley, Calif.
  • City of Moscow, Idaho
  • City of Muskogee, Okla.
  • City of Newton, Mass.
  • City of Orange, Calif.
  • City of Phoenix, Ariz.
  • City of Raleigh, N.C., Vehicle Fleet Services
  • City of Reno, Nev.
  • City of Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada
  • City of Richmond, B.C., Canada
  • City of Richmond, Va.
  • City of Roanoke, Va.
  • City of San Angelo, Texas, Fleet Services
  • City of San Jose, Calif.
  • City of Seattle, Wash.
  • City of Ventura, Calif.
  • City of West Jordan, Utah
  • City of West Palm Beach, Fla.
  • City of West University Place, Texas
  • City of Wichita, Kan.
  • CPS Energy, Texas
  • DC Water
  • DeKalb County, Ga., Fleet Management
  • Fairfax County, Va., Department of Vehicle Services
  • General Services Agency, Ventura County, Calif.
  • Hanover County, Va.
  • Johnson County, Kan.
  • Montclair State University, N.J.
  • New Jersey City University
  • New York City Police Department
  • NYC Parks
  • Orange County, Fla., Fleet Management
  • Osceola County BOCC, Fla.
  • Pinellas County, Fla., Fleet Management
  • Prince William County, Va., Fleet Management Division, Department of Public Works
  • San Antonio Water System, Texas
  • Sandy City, Utah
  • State of Ohio DAS Office of Fleet Management
  • State of Wisconsin - DOT
  • Tennessee Valley Authority
  • The City of Saginaw, Mich.
  • Town of Castle Rock, Colo., Fleet Services
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • Village of Hoffman Estates, Ill.
  • Washington County, Ore.
  • Washoe County, Nev., Community Services Department - Equipment Services