PRINCETON, N.J. – The National Association of Fleet Administrators, Inc. (NAFA) and the National Conference of State Fleet Administrators (NCSFA) have joined forces to offer NAFA’s Certified Automotive Fleet Manager (CAFM) program to NCSFA members.

The NAFA CAFM program is designed to identify and recognize exceptional fleet management professionals. Established more than two decades ago as the Certified Fleet Management program with the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School of Business and now administered solely by NAFA, the CAFM program is the most comprehensive fleet certification program available, requiring an ongoing five-year recertification cycle and including material for both public service and private fleets.

“Our members are very excited; it’s one of the best things to ever happen to NCSFA,” said Steve Saltzgiver, NCSFA executive director. “Being able to participate in a certification program, especially one as well established as NAFA’s, is exactly what our members have been looking for. I know it’s the beginning of a long and productive collaboration.”

NCSFA chose the CAFM program because it is the oldest, largest, and most rigorous in the industry, providing a complete curriculum and requiring an ongoing five-year recertification cycle. The CAFM program certifies expertise in the fleet management profession and requires a commitment to continuous education.

Under the terms of the partnership agreement, NAFA will offer member enrollment rates to NCSFA members, as well as a group rate for larger enrollments from NCSFA. NAFA has also modified its recertification point system to allow more points for participation at NCSFA events and for NCSFA volunteer service.

NCSFA will solely endorse and market the CAFM program to its members and appoint a qualified graduate advisor to NAFA’s Certification Board.

NAFA delivers fleet management education through a variety of instructor-led and reference products. At the pinnacle of NAFA’s education system stands the CAFM program. Successful completion of the CAFM program requires passing all eight disciplines in NAFA’s core competency model within a three-year period. The eight disciplines are:

1. Asset Management

2. Business Management

3.Financial Management

4.Fleet Information Management

5.Maintenance Management

6.Risk Management

7.Vehicle Fuel Management

8.Professional Development