TORRANCE, CA – Nominations for Government Fleet magazine’s third-annual 2007 Public Sector Fleet Manager of the Year begin Dec. 13. The award is sponsored by Automotive Resources International (ARI) and presented in conjunction with next May’s National Association of Fleet Administrators (NAFA) Fleet Management Institute & Law Enforcement Group (FMI-LEG) conference in Houston.

The award is presented to public sector fleet managers who demonstrate excellence in nine areas:

  • Business plan development.
  • Computer systems and technology utilization.
  • Productivity initiatives.
  • Policies and procedures development and implementation.
  • Preventive maintenance programs.
  • Utilization management.
  • Vehicle acquisition and replacement programs.
  • Downtime customer service initiatives.
  • Fuel management programs. Last year’s winner was John McCorkhill, Jr., CFM, CAFM, CEM, fleet director, city of Lynchburg, Va. The previous winner was John Hunt, fleet manager, city of Fresno, Calif.