At the first ever Fleet Excellence Awards Night at the NAFA Fleet Management Association Institute & Expo (I&E) on April 23, NAFA presented seven industry awards to fleet professionals. Awards were open to fleets throughout the United States and Canada in the categories of safety, sustainability, and overall outstanding achievement. A seventh award was presented in the category of fleet leadership.

The Fleet Excellence Awards, or FLEXY for short, were judged by a panel of industry leaders, media representatives, and NAFA committee leaders.  Submissions were narrowed down to three finalists per category with the winner announced live on stage.

Government fleets honored with a 2013 Fleet Excellence Award are:

Outstanding Achievement in Public Service Fleet Management:

Steve Rapanos, director, City of Edmonton (Alberta) Fleet Services

Excellence in Public Fleet Sustainability:

Mark Swackhamer, CAFM, fleet operations manager, Houston Independent School District

Excellence in Public Fleet Safety:

Bill Horne, supervisor - Fleet Safety, City of Edmonton (Alberta) Fleet Services

Excellence in Fleet Leadership:

Robert Martinez, executive director, Support Services, City of New York Police Department