LAS VEGAS – Alternative Fuel Vehicle Institute (AFVi) recognized outstanding leadership in the alternative fuels and vehicles industry as part of the opening day of the 14th Alternative Fuels & Vehicles Conference + Expo 2008.

The awards honor excellence in individuals and/or organizations that have advanced the use of alternative fuels, vehicles or advanced technologies resulting in clean alternatives to petroleum. The AFVi 2008 award winners in the public sector are as follows:

The Green Ribbon Award 2008 

Patricia Mulroy, general manager of the Las Vegas Valley Water District (LVVWD), accepted the award, honoring the public utility for powerful communications and marketing strategies that raise awareness about sustainability. “Sustainability” is part of the LVVWD’s mission statement and has resulted in a range of accomplishments from the development of The Springs Preserve, a 180-acre cultural and historical attraction to solar power generation at its reservoirs.

The District’s vehicle composition is noteworthy, with 79 percent of the fleet running on alternative fuels. The recent addition of hydrogen-powered vehicles and a solar-powered hydrogen fueling station complements the fleet mix of gas/electric hybrids, compressed natural gas, and biodiesel fueled vehicles. The LVVWD provides water to more than 1 million people in Southern Nevada.

Lifetime Achievement Award 2008 

Las Vegas Mayor Oscar Goodman presented his city Fleet and Transportation Services Manager Dan Hyde with the AFVi Lifetime Achievement Award. Hyde is known for his advocacy of strong fleet leadership as a key in cleaning up America’s cities. His bold and passionate style is one reason that late last year the city received the World Leadership Award in London for its innovative approach to clean fleet services.

For 15 years Hyde has built a fleet of 1,200 vehicles, with 90 percent operating on alternative fuels. In 1993, Las Vegas became the fifth city in the nation to become part of the United States Department of Energy Clean Cities program, which Hyde has led since it began.