Applications are now open for the 2021 Leading Fleets award. The award is open to government fleets and recognizes operations that are performing at a high level in fleet innovation and leadership. Applications are due May 19.

Government Fleet magazine and the American Public Works Association (APWA) will name 50 Leading Fleets, with the top 20 being ranked. Additionally, winners will be announced for the No. 1 overall fleet, No. 1 small fleet (499 or fewer assets), No. 1 mid-size fleet (500-999 assets), and No. 1 large fleet (1,000 or more assets).

The award is judged by fleet managers of former No. 1 operations as well as a representative from APWA. This year's judges are Brian Franklin, CPFP, administrative manager, City of Tulsa, Oklahoma; Don Miller, CPFP, director of fleet, City of Kitchener, Ontario, Canada; Tracy Ochsner, assistant director of operation services, City of Fort Collins, Colorado.; and Kelly Reagan, fleet administrator, City of Columbus, Ohio.

The judges for the 2021 Leading Fleets award are pictured below.
Brian Franklin  -

Brian Franklin

Don Miller  -

Don Miller

Tracy Ochsner  -

Tracy Ochsner

Kelly Reagan  -

Kelly Reagan

Criteria for the Leading Fleets award include:

  • How an operation prioritizes and exhibits leadership within its team, with customers, within its local community, and within the overall fleet community.
  • How an operation ensures competitiveness and efficiency.
  • The future vision of the operation and leadership steps taken to get there.
  • How an operation addresses and overcomes its biggest challenges.

The recipients of these and other awards will be honored at the Government Fleet Expo & Conference during The Honors Celebration either in person or virtually. Winners will be featured in Government Fleet magazine's special awards issue.

For more information and to apply, click here.

To learn more about Government Fleet’s awards, including Public Sector Fleet Manager of the Year, Public Fleet Hall of Fame, and Legendary Lifetime Achievement Award, visit the Awards page. There is no charge to apply for these awards.