ARLINGTON, TX - The Rocky Mountain Fleet Management Association (RMFMA) announced its National Awards recipients and also recognized various industry awards honorees at its awards banquet during its annual conference. The 2012 conference, titled "Tour Texas and Excel," takes place Sept. 11-14 in Arlington.

You can see photos from the event here.

Bob Patterson, president of the RMFMA, recognized three fleet professionals with the RMFMA National Awards. Maggie Laird of Laird Consulting was awarded the Kathy Loeb Outstanding Associate of the Year, awarded for considerable time and effort in the promotion and operation of the RMFMA. Robyn Forsyth from the City of Denton, Texas, was awarded Outstanding Fleet Member of the Year, an award given to a regular member who has contributed time and effort in the promotion and operation of the association. Finally, Wayne Corum from the City of Fort Worth, Texas, was honored with the Fleet Professional of the Year Award, given to a fleet professional member who has brought a significant advance in the operation or management of his or her fleet.

Patterson also presented a plaque to Kevin Muenchow, conference committee chair, for work on this year's conference and recognized Israel Garza of the Salt River Project, outgoing chairman of the board.

Additionally, Patterson acknowledged members who had earned other industry awards, including 19 members who were named among the 100 Best Fleets, four Green Fleet Sustainability All Stars, Larry Campbell as Public Sector Fleet Manager of the Year, Josh Gerkin as Government Fleet's Technician of the Month, the City of Reno for its Certified Fleet Management Operation (CFMO) certification, and individuals who had attained CAFM or CAFS certifications from NAFA.

Finally, Mel Galbraith from the City of Scottsdale, Ariz., president-elect, gave his first speech as president of the RMFMA. He stated that his goals during his presidency would be to reach out to the younger generation of future prospective fleet professionals, and to reconcile the association's bylaws and operations documents.

Galbraith also announced that Corum was the winner of the national election for president-elect. In his speech, Corum thanked his staff and wife.

The dinner and ceremony was followed by an interactive murder mystery.

By Thi Dao