Photo by Jason Mallory.

Photo by Jason Mallory.

The City of Columbus, Ohio, was named the No. 1 fleet among the Leading Fleets at the Government Fleet Expo and Conference (GFX) on June 21.

The operation was chosen the overall No. 1 fleet for showing leadership with staff, with customers and within the community; staying efficient and competitive; overcoming challenges; and having a vision and direction for the operation.

Kelly Reagan, fleet administrator for the city, accepted the award on behalf of the city. Reagan was also named the Public Sector Fleet Manager of the Year today. He urged colleagues to invest in their operation.

"Know when it's time to up your game," Reagan said. "Know when it's time to enhance your technologies. Excellence is everywhere."

Judges Craig Croner, Sam Lamerato, Pete Scarafiotti, and Doug Weichman, as well as Government Fleet staff, were on stage to congratulate the fleet. The award is sponsored by Ford Motor Company.

Government Fleet also named the No. 1 fleets in size categories — the No. 1 small fleet (499 or fewer assets) is the City of Buckeye, Ariz., with 410 vehicles, and the No. 1 mid-size fleet (500-999 assets) is the City of Bellevue, Wash., with 889 units. Columbus is also the No. 1 large fleet (1,000 or more assets).

The rankings for the top 20 fleets are:

  1. City of Columbus, Ohio
  2. City of Fort Wayne, Ind.
  3. Montgomery County (Md.) Fleet Management Services
  4. City of Tulsa (Okla.) Equipment Management
  5. County of San Diego, Calif.
  6. City of Houston, Texas
  7. City of Buckeye, Ariz.
  8. City & County of Denver (Colo.) Department of Public Works, Fleet Management Division
  9. Lee County (Fla.) Fleet Management
  10. Manatee County Government, Fla.
  11. City of Tempe, Ariz.
  12. City of Long Beach, Calif.
  13. City Of Anaheim, Calif.
  14. City of Moline, Ill.
  15. City of Fort Worth, Texas
  16. City of Bellevue, Wash.
  17. Alameda County (Calif.) General Services Agency
  18. City of Dublin, Ohio
  19. City of Milwaukee, Wis.
  20. County of San Bernardino, Calif.

The remaining Leading Fleets awards recipients, in alphabetical order, are:

  • Cincinnati (Ohio) Public Services/Fleet Services Division
  • City of Beverly Hills, Calif.
  • City of Charlotte (N.C.) Management & Financial Services, Fleet Management
  • City of Chesapeake, Va.
  • City of Conroe, Texas
  • City of Durham, N.C.
  • City of Fairfield, Calif.
  • City of Fargo, N.D.
  • City of Fort Collins, Colo.
  • City of Henderson, Nev.
  • City of Huntington Beach, Calif.
  • City of Lakeland (Fla.) Department of Public Works
  • City of Oceanside, Calif.
  • City of Orlando, Fla.
  • City of Raleigh (N.C.) Vehicle Fleet Services
  • City of Ventura, Calif.
  • County of Riverside (Calif.) Purchasing and Fleet Services
  • County of Sonoma (Calif.) Fleet Operations
  • County of Ventura (Calif.) Fleet Operations
  • Dakota County (Minn.) Fleet Management
  • DC Water
  • Denver International Airport, Colo.
  • Eugene Water & Electric Board, Ore.
  • Forest Preserve District of DuPage County, Ill.
  • Hillsborough County, Fla.
  • Indianapolis (Ind.) Fleet Services
  • King County (Wash.) Fleet Administration Division and Metro Transit Vehicle Maintenance
  • NYC Department of Citywide Administrative Services (DCAS), N.Y.
  • Orange County (Fla.) Board of County Commissioners
  • Sacramento County, Calif.