The Rocky Mountain Fleet Management Association (RMFMA) announced its national awards recipients and also recognized various industry awards honorees at its awards banquet during its annual conference, fleetcon. The 2013 conference titled “Fleet Management for Today and What to Expect Tomorrow,” took place Sept. 10-12 in Reno, Nev.

Mel Galbraith, president of the RMFMA and fleet director at the City of Scottsdale, Ariz., recognized three fleet professionals with the RMFMA national awards.

Trace Tolby of Auto Safety House was awarded the Kathy Loeb Outstanding Associate of the Year, awarded for considerable time and effort in the promotion and operation of the RMFMA. Don Smith of the City of Reno was awarded the RMFMA Fleet Member Outstanding Service Award, an award given to a regular member who has contributed time and effort in the promotion and operation of the association. Finally, Rick Longobart from the City of Santa Ana, Calif., was honored with the Fleet Professional of the Year Award. This award is given to a fleet professional member who has brought a significant advance in the operation or management of his or her fleet.

Galbraith also presented a plaque to Don Smith and Dave Gonzales, conference committee co-chairs, for work on this year’s conference and recognized Tracy Oschner from the City of Fort Collins, Colo., as outgoing chairman of the board.

Additionally, Galbraith acknowledged members who had earned other industry awards, including two ASE Blue Seal Certifications, 17 members who were named among the 100 Best Fleets, four Green Fleet Sustainability All Stars, six Government Green Fleet awards, one Government Fleet Technician of the Month, eight member organizations for their Certified Fleet Management Operation (CFMO) certification, and nine individuals who had attained CAFM or CAFS certifications from NAFA. Two associate members were recognized for receiving the National Conference of State Fleet Administrators’ Distinguished Member Award and the other for receiving Work Truck’s  President’s Award.

Finally, Wayne Corum from the City of Fort Worth, Texas, gave his first speech as president of the RMFMA, asking attendees what they wanted from the association. Later, he outlined his own goals for 2014 with GF - these include include continuing to enhance the attributes of RMFMA and maintaining an appropriate balance between fleet and associate members. Corum will also focus on expanding RMFMA marketing efforts and expanding the group by adding a Canada chapter, expanding to other government fleet areas such as educational, county, and public utility fleets, and to private fleets as well.

Corum also announced that Dave Gonzales of Washoe County, Nev., was the winner of the national election for president-elect.

The dinner and ceremony was followed by entertainer Eric Dittleman, who combines mind-reading with stand-up and improvisational comedy.