Government Fleet Top News

2011 Government Fleet '100 Best Fleets' Announced

May 23, 2011

Government Fleet Magazine and the 100 Best Fleets announced the top 100 fleets for 2011. The awards program, sponsored by INVERS Mobility Solutions, recognizes leading fleets from across the country.

The top 20 fleets will be announced at the Government Fleet Expo & Conference in San Diego on June 8. All of the top 100 fleets will be honored during a special breakfast ceremony and an evening reception co-sponsored by LeasePlan and NJPA.

The judges for this year's program were Marilyn Rawlings, Lee County, Fla.; Samuel Lamerato, City of Troy, Mich.; George Baker, Volusia County, Fla.; and Steve Riley, City of Coral Gables, Fla. 


The 100 Best Fleets (Alphabetical Order)

Alachua County Fleet Management (Ray Griffin)
Alameda County General Services Agency (Doug Bond)
Arapahoe County (Randy Campbell)
Atlantic County Utilities Authority (Gene Petitt)
Augusta-Richmond County (Ron Crowden)
Citrus County Fleet Management (Michael R. Webster)
City of Ames (Paul Hinderaker)
City of Anaheim (Karl Hopfer)
City of Austin - Fleet Services (Gerald Calk)
City of Bellevue (Peter Bednar)
City of Boise (Craig Croner, CPFP)
City of Chicago, Department of Fleet Management (Patrick J. Harney)
City of Colorado Springs (Tom Monarco)
City of Columbus Fleet Management Division (Kelly Reagan)
City of Concord, NC (Daniel Nuckolls, CAFM)
City of Conroe (Thomas Higgs)
City of Culver City (Paul Condran)
City of Denton (Mike Ellis)
City of Durham (Larry K Cash)
City of Edmonton Fleet Services (Steve Rapanos)
City of Eugene (Tony G. Jobanek)
City of Fairfield (David Renschler)
City of Fargo (Harold Pedersen)
City of Fayetteville Fleet Operations (Dennis Pratt)
City of Fort Lauderdale Fleet Services (John L. Rencher)
City of Fort Wayne (Larry Campbell)
City of Fort Worth (Wayne Corum)
City of Goodyear (Richard Sweepe)
City Of Henderson (Robert Murnane)
City of Irving Fleet Services (Ramiro Lopez)
City of Kamloops (Ian Hammond)
City of Lakeland Fleet Management (Gary McLean)
City of Little Rock Fleet Services Department (Wendell Jones)
City of Long Beach Fleet Services (Leslie Horikawa)
City of Los Angeles, Dept of General Services (Richard Coulson)
City of Marietta/BLW (Scott Lawler)
City of Mesa, Fleet Services Department (Peter Scarafiotti)
City of Miami (Jose E. Davila Sr.)
City of Moline IL (J.D. Schulte)
City of New York DCAS Managed Fleet (Stephen J. Weir)
City of New York Parks & Recreation (Keith Kerman)
City of Oceanside (Jeffery Hart)
City of Portland (John S. Hunt, CPFP)
City of Riverside (Kris Martinez)
City of Roanoke (Kenneth Bernard)
City of Rochester (Michael J. Quattrone)
City of Sacramento - General Services - Fleet (Keith Leech)
City of San Antonio (Florencio Pena)
City of San Clemente (Mark Murphy)
City of Santa Ana (Mr. Rick Longobart)
City of Suffolk, VA (Jason LaLonde)
City of Tampa, Public Works Department, Fleet Maintenance Division
City of Tempe (Aaron Alvarado)
City of Thousand Oaks (Larry McKinney)
City of Vancouver (Doug Smith)
City of Wilmington (Ed Stone, Jerry Walker)
Collier County, Florida (Daniel A. Croft)
Colorado Department of Personnel Administration (Kathy Nesbitt)
County of Riverside (Robert Howdyshell)
County of Sonoma (David Head)
Dakota County Fleet Management (Kevin L. Schlangen)
Denver Fleet Management Division (Ernie Ivy)
Dept of Administrative Services, State of Georgia (Ed Finnegan)
District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority (O.Z. Fuller)
Eugene Water & Electric Board (Gary Lentsch)
Harford County Government (Warren R. Patrick)
Houston Independent School District (Mark Swackhamer)
Idaho National Laboratory (INL) Integrated Transportation Services
Indianapolis Fleet Services (John Williams)
Joint Base Lewis McChord Fleet Operation (Michor Gentemann)
King County Fleet Administration (Jennifer Lindwall)
Knox County, Tennessee (Phillip May)
Manatee County (Michael Brennan)
Monroe County (Melvin Rose)
Monterey County (Thomas Abear)
Montgomery County, Maryland, Department of General Services
NDDOT State Fleet Services (Paul Hanson)
New York City Police Department (Gregory Dimesa)
Palm Beach County (Douglas Weichman CAFM)
Palm Beach County Sheriff's Office (Alan Lane)
Pasco County Board of County Commissioners (Stephen R. McNaughton)
Polk County (Fl.) Fleet Management (Robert C. Stanton)
Prince George's County, Maryland (Richard Hilmer)
Prince William County (Matthew F. Villareale)
Richland County, South Carolina (William H. Peters)
San Antonio Water System (David Kilbourne)
San Bernardino County Fleet Management Department (Roger Weaver)
Sandia National Laboratories Fleet Services (Mark Crawford)
Skookum Fort Riley/GSA (Michael Powell)
Snohomish Co. Public Works, Fleet Mgt. Div. (Allen M. Mitchell)
Salt River Project (Jim Wood)
State of Delaware, Fleet Services (Terry Barton)
State Of Kentucky (Forrest Banta)
The City of Alcoa (Steve L. Hillis)
Town of Buckeye (Michael DePaulo)
University of California, Davis (Richard Battersby)
University of Washington (Jolie Tahara)
Vehicle and Travel Services, Department of Technology, Management
Wake County N.C. (Thomas Kuryla)

Washington State Department of Transportation (Greg Hansen)

Elite Fleets 

2010 #1 - City of Troy, Mich.
2008 and 2009 #1 - Hillsborough County, Fla.
2007 #1 - Volusia County, Fla.


Honorable Mentions
(Alphabetical Order)

Allegheny County (Bob Gillner)

Austin Independent School District (Kris Hafezizadeh)

City of Cedar Rapids Iowa (Dennis R. Hogan CAFM/CPFP)

City of Fernandina Beach (Jeremiah Glisson)

City of Littleton, Fleet Services (Alan Brown)

City of Plano, Fleet Services (Reid Choate)

City of Sioux City (Jim Miller)

Knoxville Utilities Board (Chris Wilson)

Minnesota Dept. of Natural Resources (Dave Schiller)

Nevada Department of Transportation (Michael Stair)

Southern Illinois University Carbondale (Kimberly A Bernardoni)

The Town of Jonesborough (Gary Lykins)

Town of Fishers (Keith Condra)

Washtenaw County Government (Bob Mossing)


  1. 1. Craig Ford [ June 09, 2011 @ 04:07AM ]

    We did not make the cut for the 100 best fleets this year but we are at the bottom of the list among 13 other "Honorable Mentions". Still pretty good for who we are.

  2. 2. Jeff Schroeder [ January 10, 2012 @ 10:52AM ]

    I understand the100 best fleets awards for 2011; I'm curious as to how many entrants for the 2011 competition?


Comment On This Story

Comment: (Maximum 10000 characters)  
Leave this field empty:
* Please note that every comment is moderated.


Fleet Faq Fuel Management

Bernie Kanavagh from WEX will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Public Fleet Tracking And Telematics

Amin Amini from Verizon will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Recent Topics

Do you insure your technicians personal tools? Do you have any policies in regards to technicians keeping a personal inventory of their...

View Topic

Along with the inquiry on mechanics clothing are the balance of your employees provided with uniforms or a clothing allowance?

View Topic

Fleet Documents

1087 Fleet Documents (and counting) to Download!

Sponsored by

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) is an independent, nonprofit, scientific, and educational organization that dedicates its efforts to reducing the losses, deaths, injuries, and property damage, from crashes on U.S. highways.

Read more