Safety & Accident

2009 GFX Conference Attendance Up

June 11, 2009

DENVERTotal attendees for the 2nd annual Government Fleet Expo & Conference (GFX), held June 8-10 in Denver, Colo., numbered more than 500 — up more than 38 percent over last year.

In addition, exhibit space sold increased more than 150 percent, with exhibitors more than pleased, according to Eric Bearly, associate publisher of Government Fleet magazine and main organizer for the event.

Attendees had the opportunity to tour the Denver Public Works Fleet Maintenance Division facility the first night of the conference on Monday.

Other highlights of the conference included:

  • 100 Best Fleets Awards Ceremony. Hillsborough County was named #1 fleet for the second time.
  • Panel discussion moderated by GF Editor Mike Antich on the "The 15 Characteristics of a Great Fleet Manager," featuring fleet managers Sharon Subadan from Hillsborough County, Fla. (#1 100 Best Fleet); John McCorkhill from Lynchburg, Va., John Hunt from Portland, Ore.; and Doug Weichman from Palm Beach County, Fla. (past winners of the GF Public Sector Fleet Manager of the Year Award).
  • Panel discussion moderated by GF Publisher Sherb Brown on alternative fuels and technologies.
  • 10 Great Ideas from the 100 Best Fleets, presented by Tom Johnson, 100 Best Fleets program founder, and featuring City of Oxnard, Calif.'s Daniel Berlenbach.
  • Successful fuel reduction efforts and programs, presented by Art Hale, fleet manager for the State of Colorado and Natalia Swalnick, Air Quality/Clean Cities Manager, American Lung Association in Colorado.

A number of other fleet managers were also presenters, including:

  • Larry Campbell, City of Fort Wayne, Ind. (2006 100 Best Fleets #1 Fleet).
  • Bryan Flansburg, University of Colorado at Boulder (Fleet Manager of the Year Nominee).
  • Ernie Ivy, City and County of Denver, Colo. (100 Best Fleets Award, Government Green Fleet Award).
  • Sam Lamerato, Troy, Mich. (MIAPWA 2005 Professional Manager of the Year, 100 Best Fleets Award).
  • Rick Longobart, Inglewood, Calif. (2009 NAFA Green Fleet of the Year, 100 Best Fleets Award, 2009 finalist for Public Sector Fleet Manager of the Year).
  • Tom Monarco, Colorado Springs, Colo. (100 Best Fleets Award).
  • Kelly W. Reagan, Columbus, Ohio (100 Best Fleets Award).
  • John Rencher, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. (100 Best Fleets Award).

Stay tuned to for more highlights and show coverage from this year's event.

Comment On This Story

Comment: (Maximum 10000 characters)  
Leave this field empty:
* Please note that every comment is moderated.


Fleet Management And Leasing

Jack Firriolo from Merchants will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Public Fleet Tracking And Telematics

Amin Amini from Verizon Connect will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Fuel Management

Bernie Kanavagh from WEX will answer your questions and challenges

View All


Recent Topics

We are in the middle of standardizing PM process with all of our technicians. And I'm asking if anyone has a standard pm checklist for...

View Topic

Is a bachelor's degree truly necessary in order to become a fleet manager, or does achieving certification as a CAFM or equivalent carry...

View Topic

Fleet Documents

1134 Fleet Documents (and counting) to Download!

Sponsored by

The name given in the UK to a lease financing arrangement where the vehicle appears on the lessee's balance sheet and where the lessee has the option to purchase the leased asset at the end of the lease term for a nominal amount.

Read more